If you’ve been arrested for DWI in Cole County, Missouri, you will want to contact an experienced DWI attorney immediately. DWI lawyers have the training and experience to dismantle the prosecutorial case against you
Even a single DWI conviction can lead to jail, fines, probation, license suspension, and a court-mandated alcohol abuse program. Not to mention that you’ll have the stigma of a DWI conviction on your record.
The Cole County DWI lawyers at Kirsch & Kirsch, Attorneys at Law are skilled criminal defense attorneys with a proven track record. Call today for diligent and aggressive criminal defense.
DWI Laws in Missouri
Like all other states and the District of Columbia, the legal alcohol limit in Missouri is .08. But the police aren’t allowed to just arrest you and measure your blood-alcohol content level. Under the law, Missouri police officers must follow a strict set of protocols to effect an arrest.
Here is a breakdown of each step:
Probable Cause for the Stop
Officers must have a legal reason to stop you. Valid reasons include:
- They observed you commit a traffic violation.
- They suspect you committed a crime.
- You were stopped at a DUI checkpoint.
- You were driving in a pattern consistent with drunkenness.
- You were involved in an accident.
The officers must articulate why they decided to conduct a DWI investigation based on your physical indicators: slurred speech, unsteadiness, they detect an odor of an alcoholic beverage, etc.
These are voluntary in Missouri and many other states. This is an important distinction because roadside exercises rarely benefit the driver, and the video evidence may be presented in court.
Implied Consent Warning
If the officers decide to make an arrest, they will read you the implied consent warning. This is a reminder that you had to agree to submit to a breath test as a condition of accepting your license or operating a vehicle on the Missouri roadways.
If you refuse, the state will revoke your driver’s license for one year. However, if you submit to the test, it will provide the prosecution with evidence that can be used against you in a court of law.
Missouri DWI Penalties
The following are the jail terms and fines you could be facing. A competent DWI attorney can often prevent you from going to jail for your first DWI offense.
- First Offense – Up to six months in jail and $500 in fines, plus court costs.
- Second Offense – Up to one year in jail with a mandatory 48 hours. Up to $1,000 in fines, plus court costs.
- Third Offense – Up to four years in jail and a mandatory ten days. Up to $5,000 in fines.
All DWI convictions also involve license suspension, the possibility of probation, a mandatory ignition interlock device, and mandatory classes. You will also have a criminal record.
How Our Attorneys in Cole County Can Help You
A skilled DWI defense attorney can help you beat your charges. Our criminal defense lawyers have a proven track record when it comes to DWI defense. Here’s how we can help:
- Review all evidence against you
- Determine whether we can get the evidence suppressed
- Negotiate a plea with the prosecution
- Help you get your driving privileges restored
- Defend you in the Cole County criminal court.
If you’ve been arrested for DWI in Jefferson City or anywhere in Cole County. The DWI lawyers at Kirsch & Kirsch are ready to stand by your side and defend you. Call today.