Missouri Marijuana Laws 2021 – What’s a Felony and What’s Not?

 Picture of a person holding an amount of marijuana that could lead to a misdemeanor possession of marijuana offense in Missouri.

Currently, 17 states allow for the use of recreational marijuana. To the dismay of many, Missouri is not one of those states. Individuals charged with possession of marijuana (under a certain amount) generally face misdemeanor charges. 

However, depending on where you’re charged, owning other types of marijuana products (i.e., edibles, THC wax, etc.) or larger amounts of marijuana may lead to a felony charge that could result in jail time. 

While this is an exciting time in our country for marijuana enthusiasts, it’s important to remember that the current marijuana laws in Missouri are still strict compared to many other states. 

Whether you’re charged with a marijuana-related misdemeanor or felony, it’s in your best interest to consult with an experienced Cole County criminal defense lawyer. 

At Kirsch & Kirsch, we offer criminal defense services all over Cole County, including: 

  • Jefferson City, MO
  • Russellville, MO
  • Wardsville, MO
  • Taos, MO
  • Saint Thomas, MO
  • Centertown, MO
  • Saint Martins, MO

Contact us today at 573-222-0826 for your free initial consultation. Learn more below about Missouri marijuana laws in 2021. 

Overview of Missouri Marijuana Laws – Misdemeanor Vs. Felony

According to a recent poll conducted by The Kansas City Star, more than 90% of respondents said recreational marijuana should be legal in Missouri. 

While the state is edging closer and closer to more liberal marijuana laws, it’s still a long way from full legalization. 

With that in mind, it’s essential to understand the consequences of marijuana possession in Missouri. Learn more about what’s considered a misdemeanor and what’s considered a felony below. 

Missouri Misdemeanor Marijuana Offenses

If you possess any amount of marijuana in Missouri, you can still be charged with a criminal offense. 

Missouri misdemeanor marijuana possession charges include, but are not limited to: 

  • Possession up to 10g: Those charged with possessing marijuana under 10g for the first time face misdemeanor charges, up to $500 in fines, but no jail time. However, subsequent misdemeanor convictions can lead to higher fines, and jail time (up to one year).
  • Marijuana Paraphernalia: Owning marijuana paraphernalia can lead to misdemeanor charges. First-time offenders are subject to fines up to $500 but no jail time. Subsequent or more serious offenses can be charged as a felony. 

Missouri Felony Marijuana Offenses

If you’re buying marijuana in Missouri, you can potentially be charged with felony marijuana offenses for seemingly innocent actions. 

For example, suppose your supplier offers to sell you more than 35g of marijuana at a discounted price. If authorities catch you, you could be charged with felony possession charges as well as felony distribution charges. 

The Cole County Prosecutor may charge you with felony marijuana-related charges under the following circumstances, but not limited to:

  • You possess more than 35 grams of marijuana
  • You possess marijuana concentrates (i.e., THC wax, edibles, etc.)
  • You attempt to sell, traffic, or distribute marijuana (harsher penalties for distribution or sale to minors)
  • You cultivate (grow) any amount of marijuana 
  • You intend to or are distributing marijuana paraphernalia for commercial purposes

It’s important to note: that just because you’re charged with felony marijuana possession doesn’t mean that you will be convicted. 

When is Marijuana Legal in Missouri? – Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws 

If you are diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition, you may be eligible for a medical marijuana card in Missouri. 

However, there are limitations to the amount of marijuana you can possess and the type of products. It’s important to note that you must be approved to purchase and own medical marijuana. Otherwise, you could face criminal drug charges. 

Contact a Trusted Criminal Defense Lawyer Today

A criminal marijuana conviction can lead to jail time, high fines, and many other complications in your life. If you’re facing misdemeanor or felony marijuana charges, it’s in your best interest to work with the best criminal defense lawyer in your area. 

At Kirsch & Kirsch, we have an in-depth understanding of current marijuana laws in Missouri, as well as the most effective criminal defense strategies. We can help. 

Contact us today at 573-222-0826 for your free initial consultation.